Suffrage Leaders in Tennessee

Suffrage leaders unfurl a banner recognizing Tennessee becoming the thirty-sixth state to ratify the 19th Amendment. Courtesy of the Library of Congress.

Call for Proposals
WOMEN’S SUFFRAGE AND THE MEDIA
A Special Issue of American Journalism

American Journalism: A Journal of Media History announces a call for proposals for a special issue to be published in April 2019 to commemorate the adoption of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution that granted the women of all states the right to vote. We seek original historical research on the role of media in and about the suffrage movement, work that illuminates lasting cultural, political, economic, ideological, and social problems. Research could center on movement, mainstream, ethnic or alternative media; strategic communication, visual culture, or closely related themes.

Much can be gleaned from examining pro- and anti-suffrage media strategies and the public responses they elicited. For the past forty years, an important body of scholarship has emerged about the movement and media. For the occasion of this centennial anniversary, our goal is to build on this foundation with work that asks new questions and presents new theoretical and methodological approaches, insights, and arguments.

The proposal should be five to ten pages, including a title or a two-sentence summary, a 250-word abstract, and a narrative that explains the scope of the project, its theme or argument, and its importance. It should demonstrate familiarity with the relevant literature and historical context, as well as historiography, provide examples of primary sources, and address how the author plans to develop and structure the work.

Topics may include, but are not limited to, studies of:

  • Iconography and visual culture
  • Constructions of womanhood and sexuality
  • Business and economics of suffrage media
  • Publicity and strategic communications
  • Politics of race and racial tensions
  • Suffrage and the media within broader women’s rights agenda
  • Audiences and reception of suffrage media
  • Popular culture representations and media interpretations
  • Intersection of suffrage with mainstream media
  • Recalibrated movement media image in amendment’s aftermath
  • Audiences and reception of suffrage and anti-suffrage media

Authors should send proposals to: https://suffrageandthemedia.submittable.com/submit

Proposals are due July 1, 2017

Special Issue Editorial Board

Maurine Beasley, mbeasley@umd.edu
Jinx Broussard, jinxy@lsu.edu
Kathy Roberts Forde, kforde@journ.umass.edu
Carolyn Kitch, ckitch@temple.edu
Brooke Kroeger, brooke.kroeger@nyu.edu
Linda Lumsden, lumsden@email.arizona.edu
Jane Marcellus, jane.marcellus@mtsu.edu
Jane Rhodes, rhodesj@uic.edu
Linda Steiner, lsteiner@umd.edu